“Help I just graduated and I can’t find a job!!!”

The struggles of a recent graduate to find a job.

“Help I just graduated and I can’t find a job!!!” That’s exactly what I said 3 months after I graduated! Seriously, its rough out there. I had good grades, 3.25 not too shabby, if I may say so myself. I also had 2 part-time jobs, and I was apart various clubs and I was a college athlete.

Yes, I know. How did I do it?! Coffee was my best friend. And also, I had to do it. Why? Because. Ummm….because what? I don’t know exactly. I was taught keep your grades up, graduate, and then you will find a job and a life partner and live happily ever after… Wrong!
Talk about a wake up call!

I remember applying for jobs my senior year of college. And honestly I got nothing. I mean nothing. Do you see air? Yup! Thats exactly what I got. Nothing.

So then I decided before I graduate that I needed a new car. Because that’s what you do when your graduating living on a supplemental income of an astounding $200 a month. To my dismay! lol not really. I didn’t have enough credit (or money) for a car. However, something wonderful happened. I didn’t know this at the time but I was chatting with the manager and he offered me an interview. So luckily for me, one month later I started worked as a lovely sales associate selling used cars.

Even though I know I am not meant to be in sales. I did learn a lot about selling, and how to sell. One of the most important things that I did learn from working in sales is confidence. Confidence in myself. Confidence in what I am doing. And confidence in what I was selling. So even though I didn’t get a job in the field of what I graduated in I did find something, that I was good at, and that eventually lead me to something that I am even more passionate about… marketing 🙂  
Leave a Reply

